Merci! Grazie! Danke!

Merci! Grazie! Danke!

I want to thank Raiha at http://livinginpak.wordpress.com/ for nominating me for the Liebster Award!  I’d heard of it once before but honestly had to do a little research to figure out what it actually is.  According to Google Translator, “liebster” is a German word which translates as “dearest,” which to me is such a sweet compliment!

Rules for Accepting the Liebster Award

You must link back the person who nominated you.
You must answer the 10 Liebster questions given to you by the nominee before you.
You must pick 10 bloggers to be nominated for the award with under 200 followers.
You must come up with 10 questions for your nominees to answer.
You must go to their blogs and notify your nominees.

Below you’ll find my answers to Raiha‘s questions!

1. Who’s baby are you?  Mom’s or Dad’s?

I am without a doubt my mother’s daughter.  There’s no denying our resemblance, which to me isn’t a bad thing at all!  She is beautiful, youthful, and stands for what she believes in.  Like her, I love science and both teaching and learning.  As I get older I find myself saying the same things and doing the same things as her more and more, and we both laugh about it.  I find it a wonderful compliment when someone tells me I remind them of her, and I only hope that someday I am as wonderful a mother to my children as she has been to me.  

2. Do you like children? (Babies, more specifically?)

I really love kids.  Sure, sometimes my nieces are often overstimulating and throw me into an awful headache episode, but I love them and my nephew to death.

Babies and young children are so shapeable, so impressionable, and I love being able to share in the experiences that will transform them into the people they become.  The innocent joy in simple moments that children have is a rare, if not nonexistent, quality in adults, and I love it when I get the chance to spend time with children and rekindle those feelings.

3. Are you a cat person or a dog person?

Is that even a question?  While I am a huge general animal lover, dogs trump cats no matter what.

Right now we have three dogs at our house: a 9-y.o. Jack Russell Terrier named Nutmeg (she’s mine and will always be the favorite), a 10-month-old Standard Poodle named Clyde, and a 3-y.o. Golden Retriever named Cinnamon who is due in a month with Clyde’s puppies!  We’re hoping to add one of the Golden Doodle puppies to our clan, and I just can’t wait to get my hands on those puppies.

Don’t get me wrong, cats can be fun….when they want to be.  But no matter what you do or where you go, your dog will always greet you with unconditional, exploding love and kisses and a wagging tail, and that kind of love cannot be replicated in any other kind of relationship.

I’ve had dogs that stay by my side after surgery, comfort me when I’m hurting, and play with me when I need a break from work or inactivity.  Their intuitiveness and ability to fill voids is an incredible trait, and it makes me sad to think there are people in this world who don’t own a dog.

4. Where do you think a woman’s place is?  The office or the kitchen?

There isn’t one place for a woman.  I enjoy cooking, in fact last night I made cheeseburger pie and rhubarb crisp for myself and my parents, and it actually turned out delicious!  But I don’t enjoy cooking every night, and no family woman (or man, for that matter) should have to.

But I also enjoy studying and working, and would go crazy if I didn’t have a purpose beyond keeping the house tidy (as evidenced by this past summer of post-grad unemployment).  This transition year between undergrad and medical school might be good for me (I’m learning more about cooking and have more motivation in keeping the house clean), but it’s also reminded me that I hate not being a student/having a job!

For some women, either the kitchen or the office is their place, but only if that’s where their heart leads them!

5. Are you the first, middle, last or only child?

I’m the baby of five children – 3 half-siblings who are 13+ years older and one full brother who preceded me by 1.5 years.

Most middle/older siblings argue that the youngest is spoiled, but I don’t see it that way.  Not only am I the youngest, but I’m my mom’s little girl, so I was maybe favored a little.  But because I’m the baby girl of the family, I was hugely protected by my parents and still am.  No boyfriend was good enough (or if he was, he didn’t stick around long!), my curfew was always earlier than my brother’s, et cetera.

That being said, I tended to be more responsible than my brother (Lace, if you’re reading this, no offense!!!!!) when it came to certain things.  But, I was also at times the wild child, most definitely a symptom of my status as the baby.

6. Do you exercise?

Erryday.  Well, four days a week when I’m being really good.  I actually just joined a new gym today after having to workout at home all summer.

Because of the Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, I have to exercise to compensate for the instability in my joints.  I can’t run much due to joint/cardiopulmonary issues, but I do lift weights to strengthen the muscles that support my joints.  For five years I was very fortunate to have a boyfriend who was an exercise expert and wrote really wonderful workouts for me, but now that I’m on my own (my choice, not his), I’m learning to DIY my workouts.

Not only does resistance exercise strengthen the muscles that keep me upright, but the release of endorphins makes me feel so much better, not to mention staying in shape means I look pretty darn good!  And with my background in nutrition (I have my Bachelor’s degree in nutritional science), it seems fitting that I make exercise such a priority in my life.

***If anyone reading this has questions about how I can lift weights with EDS, please comment below and I’ll respond or perhaps eventually write a blog about it!

7. What’s worse, resisting chocolate or gaining a few pounds?

Chocolate all the way!

Besides, since the pounds gained weren’t specified as muscle or fat, I’m gonna go ahead and pretend Raiha meant muscle, which is actually a very good thing!  I don’t even weigh myself anymore because when I start a workout after taking a break my weight fluctuates and eventually goes up as I gain muscle mass.

Plus, chocolate is pretty much the best thing that ever was or is (except horses).

8. Would you consider yourself an introvert or extrovert?

I’m gonna say I’m with the majority of the general population that lies somewhere in the middle.  Because of the social effects of dealing with EDS in high school before I had my dx, I’m probably more introvert that extrovert though.

I became very guarded after so many people questioned the reality of what I was suffering and friends stopped being friends.  It made my college experience less than what I wish I’d had, but I also learned to overcome some of that.  I still have a hard time making new friends, but those that I have are the absolute best, and around them I’m quite the extrovert!

9. Do you like to read?

YES.  When I was younger I read constantly.  I was one of the first two kids in my elementary school to read Harry Potter, and I read pretty much every book in the series in 2 or 3 days.

College impaired my ability to enjoy reading, as I’m sure medical school will do even further, but I still enjoy reading when I have the time.  If you haven’t read the Scarpetta books by Patricia Cornwell, I highly suggest them!  Every time we take a long trip we rent one of her books on tape because the reader does such a good job and the books are irresistible!

I also read a lot of often nerdy non-fiction books like my current choice, The Emperor of All Maladies, a Biography of Cancer by Siddhartha Mukherjee.  American Sniper by the late war hero and Navy SEAL Chris Kyle is an excellent read as well.

10. What genre of music do you like most?

Oh boy, that’s a very loaded question.

Right now country music is really great, so that’s right up there.  But I still love the sound of the Beatles, MUSE, Jack Johnson, Maroon 5 and the irresistible crooning of Michael Bublé.  I listen to pretty much everything.  Except heavy metal.  Yikes……

 

 

So that’s it!  There are my answers!  Next up I need to nominate some fellow new bloggers!  Unfortunately I haven’t exposed myself to too many blogs yet, so here are some of the great ones I’ve encountered thus far:

  1. Being Nenne – Such beautiful honesty shines through her words and I find her blogs very hard not to read! 🙂
  2. dontwakeSofia – I can totally relate to this blog as I go through my own year off, and her posts are often filled with lots of timely comic relief!

I wish I knew of more wonderful bloggers to add to this list of nominations, but I will certainly bring more to light as I find them!

 

Finally, my 10 questions for these two wonderful ladies:

  1. What was the name of your best childhood friend, and are you still friends today?
  2. Everyone’s got a little nerd in them – what brings out the nerd in you?
  3. In the event of an apocalypse (nuclear, zombie, reckoning, etc.), where would you go and why?
  4. How long have you had your blog?
  5. Batman or Superman? (Batman is always the right answer)
  6. If you had your education entirely paid for, what would you study and how far would you go with it?
  7. What is your favorite form of exercise? (Channel surfing totally counts.)
  8. Is your blog your only creative outlet?
  9. What’s worse – no internet or no books?
  10. Who is your favorite James Bond?

 

Thanks again to Raiha for the nomination!  I’m glad I got a chance to pay it forward 🙂

 

3 thoughts on “Merci! Grazie! Danke!

  1. Ellie, when I was a junior in high school I wrote in my journal that I hoped I would be as good of a person as my mom was. My teacher wrote to me “You already are.” Her words, and now yours, are two of the most meaningful things anyone has ever said about me. Thanks for your response to the first question. I am deeply humbled, and thoroughly confident that you are going to be a wonderful mom:) I guess it is no surprise that your wish and mine in my youth were so similar, huh? That`s my little girl!

Leave a Reply

